The Writings are known as the Ketuvim in Hebrew. As the third section of the Hebrew Old Testament, the Ketuvim is a collection of poetry, wisdom, history, and short story. Though often studied in two different classes (wisdom and historical) we will learn this section of the Hebrew bible as was intended: the liturgical worship books for the covenant community. 

My aim for this course is for students to read the Ketuvim in the original order and in the covenant worship context. Only when grasped in this manner can we truly begin to discuss how to hermeneutically handle the content in our churches.


Three sections of Ketuvim

The three Poetic Books (Sifrei Emet)

The Five Megillot (Hamesh Megillot)

Other books



Schedule Dr. Mario to speak on this topic.